Professor Lyn Beazley, Advisory Board Chair

Professor Lyn Beazley is the Brain Function CoE’s Advisory Board Chair. She is an eminent scientific innovator, communicator, educator and neuroscientist. Her experience enhances the scale and focus of the Centre’s outreach and education activities, and ensures it meets its strategic aims.

Professor Beazley has served as Chief Scientist of Western Australia (2006-2013) and on numerous bodies advising State and Federal Governments, including advisory boards to the Australian Research Council, the Australian Synchrotron, and Western Australia’s Low Emissions Energy Development (LEED) Fund. Professor Beazley currently Chairs the Federal Government’s Terrestrial Ecosystem Research Network Advisory Board and serves on the National Blood Authority Board.

She was awarded Officer of the Order of Australia in January 2009, and made a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering later that year. Professor Beazley was Western Australia’s Australian of the Year 2015. In 2017, Professor Beazley received Honorary Doctorates from Monash University and Edith Cowan University.

Follow Professor Beazley on Twitter: @lynbeazley